Hiking food for the next 8 days until Kennedy Meadows

We are about to leave Tehachapi, we liked it here so much, but the Trail Is Calling!

I won’t have internet for the next 8 days, so I’ll post after we arrived to Kennedy Meadows.

So here is my food for the next 8 days. Mike’s food looks exactly the same plus a jar of peanut butter and a quarter pound of cheese.

As you can see it’s the exactly the opposite of a Farmer’s Market fresh produce selection.

The hiker food needs to be LIGHT, high in protein, calories and not too expensive. God help us!

For breakfast: it’s oatmeal with raisins and coffee. Healthy and we like it. Oatmeal also lowers cholesterol, which is great, since my cholesterol level is a bit high, (also genetic in the Contreras family). However, I figured after hiking the PCT, my cholesterol level will be dangerously low. I usually drink a cup of coffee, Mike drinks a liter.

For lunch: I carry tortilla and olive oil. Mike got the cheese and peanut butter. We put one or the other on the tortilla, or all. I like it.

For dinner: in two ziploc bags we still have some homemade dehydrated food with vegetables and meat. That’s gold. The rest is Knorr sides and Idaho potatoes. I’m scared to read the ingredients on the package, the probably all cause cancer, but after 20 miles, you’ll love it.

We also have tuna, ramen, nuts and crackers for snack that we eat throughout the day.

3 thoughts on “Hiking food for the next 8 days until Kennedy Meadows”

    1. To be honest, they’d probably be better than all the instant potatoes. But do they even make those things anymore?

      Like

Leave a comment